TalkingTHFC interviews Billericay Town Captain and Tottenham fan Glenn Poole

At 34 years of age, Glenn Poole has had a long and successful career at multiple levels of English football.

Image from billericaytownfc.co.uk

Image from billericaytownfc.co.uk

A former Spurs youth player, Glenn’s experience has shone throughout his recent career, especially at his current club Billericay Town.

At the Essex-based club, the former AFC Wimbledon, Brentford and Yeovil midfielder has played an instrumental in his side’s success, whilst being a part of the 2011/12 Ryman Premier League Championship winning side.

The Blues secured this after drawing 2–2 with Margate with a penalty from Glenn Poole and then a header in the last 5 minutes of the game from Rob Swaine helping them lift the trophy.

Craig Edwards’ side are among the most famous of the non-league clubs, having reached the FA Cup First Round on three separate occasions, including a narrow 2-1 defeat to Swansea City in the 2007-08 season.

Making their home at the New Lodge in Billericay, the club has faced many famous foes, including West Ham United, Charlton Athletic and Southend United in pre-season friendlies.

Amongst this famous club is powerful midfielder, Glenn Poole. A Spurs supporter, I was eager to sit down with Glenn to find out his views on the club, as well as his experiences in English football.

Image via essexchronicle.co.uk

Image via essexchronicle.co.uk

So Glenn, you’re obviously a big Spurs fan, what have you made of the season so far? 

I certainly am. It’s been an up and down season, beating good teams such as Chelsea and Arsenal by playing some great football and making a cup final, but on the flip side of that is losing at home to West Brom, Stoke and Aston Villa to name a few. We need to be beating sides like that at home if we want to be serious contenders for the top 4 which I think we are quite a way off of at the moment. New signings are a must!

A goal-scorer yourself, what have you made of Harry Kane’s rise this campaign?

I must admit the emergence of Harry Kane has surprised me and also proven me wrong, I didn’t think he would be as prolific and influential as what he has been this season. The big question is can he carry it on into next season, I believe he will do so but we don’t want him to be the only source of goals we need other players to step up to the plate. I think one or maybe two strikers will be needed to compliment the talent of Harry and also keeping him on his toes, every forward needs to know if he doesn’t score another one will. 

It’s been a mixed season for Billericay so far, just 8 points off the play-off spots, how do you feel about the run-in? 

It has been an up and down season this year, in what has been myself and Richard Halle aside, a very young team and squad. We have played very well in parts this season but also very poorly, it will be a valuable learning curve for the younger lads and they will be better for it next season and seasons to come. I think the play offs are a big ask but we will keep trying to win as many games and not give up until it is mathematically impossible not to make the play offs. We also have a cup final to prepare for so will be a good few weeks. 

Image via basildonrecorder.co.uk

Image via basildonrecorder.co.uk

Have you heard about any pre-season fixtures yet? Will we see Spurs coming to the New Lodge anytime soon?

Yes we will be at home to Ebbsfleet and away to Guernsey again, that’s all so far. I don’t think Spurs will be visitors to New Lodge especially with Craig (the boss) being a Gooner!

What has been your best memory in a Billericay shirt? 

Obviously winning the Ryman Premier league was a massive highlight for me, it was a great achievement with a great group of players and one that I won’t forget as I found myself loving the game again after a couple of years not enjoying it. On a personal level winning player of the year, players player of the year and finishing top scorer in a relegation year was a massive achievement for me and scoring on my 150th appearance for the club was very special for me.

You’ve obviously been involved with some big clubs, who was the biggest named player you’ve faced?

Playing against Steven Gerrard in the youth team was something special he was different class even then as an 18 year old. Also when at Grays we played a friendly against a star studded Spurs side at Spurs Lodge featuring Ledley King, Roman Pavlychenko, Alan Hutton, David Bentley and Giovanni Do Santos to name a few on Luka Modric’s return from injury and he was just amazing, what a top player. It was an honour and privilege to be on the same pitch as him. 

image via thurrockgazette.co.uk

image via thurrockgazette.co.uk

You played Arsenal in a friendly during your Barnet days. I bet you were eager to get one over on them?

Yeah of course I wanted to turn them over but to do that we needed to have the ball and we hardly touched it haha. They were different class and beat us 4-0 the highlight for me was forcing Samir Nasri off the ball and him having a go at me and me just laughing at him. I do have a pic of myself on the ball being chased down by Jack Wilshere which was a rarity in that game. It was predominantly the other way round. 

And finally, what does the future hold for you? Are you happy at Billericay? 

I’m more than happy at Billericay and I have been since December 2011 when I signed and still am 170 odd games later I’ve found the love for the game again and I feel fully appreciated there by players, staff and fans which is important to me. I am playing some of the best and most consistent football of my career this last 18 months especially and more importantly enjoying it as well. I would like to stay for as long as possible but who knows what the future holds as long as I am wanted I am not in a rush to leave what so ever. 

I’d like to thank Glenn for his time, and for giving me the chance to interview him. Make sure to follow him on Twitter (@pooley11) and follow @BTFC for the latest on their push for promotion this season.

I hope to bring more interviews in the near future!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

