Tottenham star Eric Dier: ‘I want to score more goals next season’.

Eric-Dier_3022164bEric Dier has spoken to the official club website about his remarkable debut season at the club.

Emphasising how much he has learnt under Pochettino, the England U21 defender was keen to highlight that he has a long way to go.

Speaking to Spurs, Dier said: “It’s been a good season for me. I had no idea what to expect when I came here and I’m happy to have played as many games as I have.”

Dier was keen to speak about the impact of Pochettino, saying: “I’ve learned loads. Every game I’m learning from. I’m learning from the players here, I learn in training and from the manager.

“I’m learning every day and hopefully I’ll keep on improving.”

At the ripe old age of 21, the former Sporting Lisbon star spoke to the club about his future. Dier said: “I feel I’ve a lot more improvement to make before I reach my full potential but playing here should certainly help me achieve that.”

With John Terry achieving the title of top-scoring Premier League defender of all-time this season, Dier remarked that he would like to add goals to his game. eric-dier-diego-costa-chelsea-tottenham-capital-one-cup-final_3271230

Dier said: “I would have thought I’d get a couple of goals this season – I wanted to score more!

“I scored a couple early so I was hoping to get more. I can’t complain, I’m happy with two goals.”

Dier was unfortunately left out of Gareth Southgate’s England Under-21 squad for the Under-21 European Championships this summer, but with a relaxing pre-season under his belt, an opening day winner could be on the cards again next season.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

